Year in Review: Final Thoughts

When I look back on 2016 ten years from now, I hope that I will see it as a year which forged me. I am undoubtedly a changed person, and  not entirely for the worse. By that description, you’d be forgiven for thinking that this year has been good – it hasn’t.

At some point this year, although I don’t quite know when, I started musing on another thing. I am a physicist, not just by trade but by identity, and before this year I’d rarely given a thought to why that is. Why do I do science? I think that I’ve fundamentally taken on science for selfish reasons – it’s a creative outlet which I derive fundamental pleasure from. It’s almost sublime, in the traditional sense of the word. Therein lies the rub – I am not really a very selfish man. In many ways, it’s uncharacteristic of me to do something purely for my own jealous need. In fact, I derive a lot of pleasure from doing things which indirectly support and uplift others. I have the opportunity and will to change what I do over the next year. Maybe 2017 will be the year I sing for the moment.

That’s why we sing for these kids who don’t have a thing, except for a dream and a fucking rap magazine,

Who post  pin-up pictures on their walls all day long, idolize their favorite rappers and know all their songs,

Or for anyone who’s been through shit in their lives ’till they sit and they cry at night, wishing they’d die,

‘Till they throw on a rap record, and they sit and they vibe. We’re nothing to you, but we’re the fucking shit in their eyes,

That’s why we; seize the moment, try to freeze it and own it; squeeze it and hold it, ’cause we consider these minutes golden.

And maybe they’ll admit it when we’re gone, just let our spirits live on through our lyrics that you hear in our songs,

And we can (sing for the moment).

May your 2017 take you somewhere good.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

