Year in Review: Highs #1

Being so utterly disappointed in Facebook’s interpretation of my 2016, I decided to think seriously about how my year actually has gone. As far as things go, it’s been a pretty big one. Over the next 10 days, I’ll be reviewing my year by alternating between the worst and best bits of the year. I hope that the introspection and discussion can set us up for a better year next year.

The penultimate post in this series covers the most positive part of the year!

Knowing where I’m going.

I said in my last post that the lowest part of the year for me was deciding that Academia as a career isn’t for me. One of the difficult things about rating this my lowest point of the year is really that there wasn’t a particular single point in the year when that happened. It was just this persistent and growing feeling of doom about my future plans.

So here I am at the end of the year, and I know where I’m going. I have a pretty good idea of what I want and how to go about achieving it – or at least a good way to start. I’m positive and optimistic about it. That makes a real distinctive change from the rest of the year, and the fact that I can be happy now deserves to be celebrated.

Before I had a handle on why I was unhappy during the year, if I was being honest with someone I’d tell them I felt “lost”. This would be partially in context of my research direction, but also because of my career misgivings. Having overcome this sense of directionless, I am filled with a sort of glorious purpose: to prove to myself that I can be happy. Direction helps me to set goals. Goals give me focus. Focus gives me hope.

And hope is the path to doing something new and exciting. So here’s to 2016, a year which deprived me of so much. In return, at least I got a sense of purpose.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

