Year in Review: Highs #5

Being so utterly disappointed in Facebook’s interpretation of my 2016, I decided to think seriously about how my year actually has gone. As far as things go, it’s been a pretty big one. Over the next 10 days, I’ll be reviewing my year by alternating between the worst and best bits of the year. I hope that the introspection and discussion can set us up for a better year next year.

Meeting my friend’s daughter.

My best friend and his wife are about two years older (on average) than myself and my fiancee. At our stage in life, this makes for some interesting contrasts between our households. Since they’ve had one high-qualified earner for quite a few years now, they’ve secured a nice house and a relatively stable life. They seem happy. In contrast, our life has been less secure and on a smaller scale. I don’t envy them in the slightest; I’m happy that they’re doing well.

But what’s made things particularly interesting this year is that they’ve had a child together – we’ll call her Little – which has obviously changed their life. I was shocked and impressed that Dad managed to finish his PhD and land a job in time for the birth, and the effort they clearly put in to making sure he excels at his job as well as being a good father is rather inspiring.

Honestly, though, the most impressive thing is that I really like Little. I didn’t expect that, and it was a real pleasure to get to know the little scamp. I think it’s changed the way I think about small humans, and its one of the small things which has made a big positive difference to how I view life.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

