Thesis Countdown (parts 22 and 23)

15 days to go…

Motivation is at an all-time low, as I commented yesterday. I am sincerely trying to make myself just finish the bloody thing, and failing. Chapter 7 is still the real bugbear, since I have a lot of data which contradicts itself. I just have to work with what I have, but that means an unsatisfying read. Still, the least I need to do is to make the chapter coherent – it is improving with agonizing slowness.

This post is delayed by an infuriating tendency of my internet to drop out suddenly and at the most inconvenient times. Nevertheless, I’ve not lost any of the work I’ve done – only time from trying to fix it.

16 days to go…

The internet problems continue, which has caused serious delays to my work – I lose most of the day. On the other hand, having slept for a meager 5 hours last night I suspect I’d not work very well anyway. It occurs to me that the longer this goes on the worse it will be. I need to just submit and be able to stop worrying about it…

After a nap (I’m a real adult honest), I get along much better. I’ve got to the point of including my appendices (4 of them in the end, some 20 pages of things I cut from the main document but weren’t quite disposable enough to not deserve a mention). My references finally pass the 100 mark, and are looking quite healthy.

Towards the end of the evening I am frustrated. Try as I might, I can’t find a template for the cover page for Surrey theses. This irks me, since every one I’ve seem appears identical, yet the few official words I can find on it (in the regulations) don’t specify most of the details. This baffles me.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Thesis Countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

