Thesis Countdown (part 17)

20 days to go…

… except not really. I sat down and worked out the timetable which I need to work on to get things done in a sensible time and submit at not the last possible second. I will be submitting my finished thesis for printing in just under 2 weeks.

Gulp.

On the other hand, having a timetable on the days-scale means that I have a p-l-n: plan. That’s great. Now I just have to figure out what to do.

I’m powering through finishing the Introduction, hastily drawing up a couple of diagrams which I really expect will draw some comments. That’s fine. As my supervisor said; better to lead the examiner to some questions than have them ask just whatever they like.

I spend waste some time working out a cute little conversion between orbital radius of my donor states (in nm) and their binding energies (in meV) to give the reader an appreciation of the scales we’re talking about here. The conversion is cute because it’s relatively simple if you don’t care about anything more than the second significant figure: To find the radius, take the binding energy and multiply by 16. Divide 1000 by that number, and bingo. One of the pleasures of knowing a field well is understanding why these conversions matter, and how useful it is to have a quick rough calculation to hand.

 The Introduction chapter falls by mid-afternoon, and I am quite proud of it. It will surely change again when I re-read the thesis and start putting edits in, but I feel it gets the point across quite adequately. Only the Conclusions & Further Work to go now. I hate these chapters.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Thesis Countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

