Thesis Countdown (part 16)

21 days to go…

Three weeks left. The deadline’s getting realer, but that’s fine because we’re just turning the last corner into the final sprint. I like this metaphor; I mentally picture Farah as I write it, rather than Bolt. Today contains multiple challenges in addition to my writing, however: I am still partially responsible for organizing a wedding (my own), and I have yet to wrangle the University into not charging me money for services it will never need to give me. I live in “interesting times”, indeed.

Things gradually sort themselves out throughout the morning, with the final stages of Chapter 5 falling away in the late morning and the University gracefully consenting not to charge me an order of magnitude more money than I was given to expect… at least for the time being.

My focus now turns to the three remaining Big Tasks: the Introduction, the Conclusions, and the References. I hate all of these bits. This will not be fun.

Somewhat later, I am reminded that it’s World Mental Health Day. I have so many words, but can’t find anything to say. I find, at times, that my own mind is a place full of hostility focused on myself. I personally prefer to try to work things out on my own, but when things get really tough my friends and family have provided indispensable company and sympathy. When those are absent, aggressive defense of your personal time and space is something you owe yourself.

Finally, I’ll direct you to this recording, which has got me through a lot of dark places.

“…and pray that there’s intelligent life somewhere up in space, ’cause there’s bugger all down here on Earth.”

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Thesis Countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

