Thesis Countdown (part 11)

26 days to go.

Today was my day off, by which I mean I went into work. Most of the day my work computer was inoperable, since it was running simulations for Chapter 7. These are quite important for me to back up some of my claims about the data I’ve observed, so I think it was time well spent. In the mean time, I had an enjoyable morning at the twice-monthly Researcher Coffee Morning in the library. It was nice to have a chance to relax and talk to people for a while, especially while I’m in the fug of the final writeup. It’s nice to meet new PhD students and hear about their ideas and their dreams.

The weather today was beautiful. One of those quintessential early-autumn days; cold, with a bluster, but a sun just warm enough to make up for it. Autumn is my favourite time of year. It gave me plenty of good cheer, something I’ve been sorely missing these past 12 days.

My supervisor hasn’t read my thesis yet. I am beginning to worry. On the other hand, for quite a long time now I’ve joked that he’ll never read it. I suppose it wouldn’t entirely surprise me if I was right. Still, I’m confident enough in my own work that I would submit it regardless.

That’s… actually quite a surprise for me to realise. A good one, though, since it means I have more confidence in my work than I’d given myself credit for. Despite it often being an exercise in abject failure, I have at least done the work competently and thought about the results carefully. That’s what matters, and that’s why my thesis doesn’t feel terrible to me any more.

Maybe I can do this.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Thesis Countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

