Thesis Countdown (part 9)

28 days to go.

I begin the day with the resolution that I will make some sort of tangible progress with Chapter 7. I’ve spent long enough worrying about why the data do weird things, and I figure it’s time to sort this out. I make some slow progress in the morning, but I start to figure out some of the more important differences between the experiments which are causing issues. It’s a start, and it will allow me to work on some of the text in the afternoon.

Meanwhile, my hands are cold. I decide that this is a failure of society, which forces me to choose between heating my house and eating. I briefly suppose that I could do both if I forfeited the right to live here. Maybe one day Soon(TM) I’ll earn enough that I won’t have to consider these trade offs. I reflect on how often I was reminded that a good education would mean a well paid job.

I set the slow cooker going around lunch time to make some soup. It smells delicious, but won’t be ready until about 8pm. We’ve rediscovered it after months of neglect because it happens to be a handy way to cook lots of food all at once with comparatively little effort – just bung all the ingredients in and wait. I like this approach, it means I have to stress a lot less about cooking in the evenings.

I continue to be bad at doing the pomodoro time management method which I talked about last time. This time, though, I keep forgetting to take a break during the “break” timer and find myself accidentally working. On the other hand, that’s probably making me less effective.

After multiple hours of work, I decide that I’ve made good progress. I haven’t really won yet; I’m becoming less and less convinced that I’ll find a way to make this chapter really satisfying. That stems, again, from not really having the beam time to explore everything fully.  This is my most current work, and it’s the sort of thing that if I get time/funding to explore it further, I might be able to answer these questions within a month or so.

Still, this chapter is going from terrible to at least readable state. It’s taken quite a rethink of my wording and explanations, but it’s for the better. Tonight, as I fold it up for the evening, I feel somewhat better. I made progress.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Thesis Countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

