It’s Funny How Motivation Works…

I tweeted recently that a networking meetup focused on careers in the games industry didn’t go my way. I had been very excited to start discussing how I could approach the industry and what people want. It failed to meet almost every one of my hopes, and in the weeks since I’ve realized that I wasn’t blameless in this. Cue a serious bit of self-reflection.

The feedback I got at the meetup boiled down to this: if I don’t have C++ experience, don’t want to be in another two years of education, and don’t have any art skills, then I won’t be able to get the kind of work I want.

So, it looks like I won’t be getting into the games industry very easily. Dreams shattered, and all that. The more I think about it, the remoter the chances look. But here’s a thing I’ve come to learn about my psyche: when I really want something and it looks like I can’t do it, my brain just says… “fuck it”.

“I will not be beaten.”

… and so now I want it even more. The more obstacles the world throws at me, the more and more serious I get about doing this, and the more likely I am to see it through.

The nature and timescale of my next steps aren’t clear. You can be sure, though, that I’m already putting half an eye towards what I’ll be starting immediately after I finish my PhD. Watch this space.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in General Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

