Word Therapy

Funny thing, time. We don’t really understand it properly. We treat it in different ways in different areas of Physics, where it might be continuous or discrete; real or “parametric”; independent or fundamentally woven into space. It’s not usually very clear why time goes “forward”. But, as we all know, it does.

So I come in a roundabout way to my present and future. The main source of content for this blog died off about a year ago (and, correspondingly, its traffic). That was for a variety of reasons, but the demands of my PhD have had a lot to do with it. Mine has been an unusually rough ride*, what with a field swap; regular international travel; uncivilised working hours, etc. It has changed me profoundly over its course, and much of that has been for the better. Still, I regret not being able to pursue my theorycraft. I’m working towards new subjects upon which I will have things to say.

I’m a matter of months from finishing my PhD, though. My mid-term future is uncertain – I have yet to line up a job; I don’t know where I will be living come July; I still have a thesis to write. Right now is a scary time for me.

I’m still dreaming, though, and I’ve been diversifying my programming skills in an attempt to show how well I can apply myself to industries like software development. I am now writing in Python and C#, though the former is proving challenging due to mediocre support on Windows. I turned my hand to graphic design, and now I have some snazzy new business cards. I am putting together a portfolio of code on my GitHub account. All of this is pretty exciting.

The future is bright and scary and poorly understood. I’m rushing headlong towards it with hope.

*  – Well within three sigma, though. Not enough for a discovery.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in General Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

