Promotion

Today I decided to promote myself. That’s right!  This site has officially upgraded from “Ramblings of a Science Maniac”  to “Adventures of a naïve young researcher”

There are many many good reasons for this. Firstly; I’ve been labelling myself as a “science maniac” for several years now, and though I’m no less maniacal than I was when I started I’m also significantly more aware of quite how naïve I am. I’ve also graduated, and my career has started – I’m actually a researcher rather than just some dude who likes science.

I have to say though that I like being naïve in a way – naïveté can be quite useful when dealing with certain kinds of people because it means you can push them for more time and attention and actually get the best out of them. On the other hand, it does have a way of leading into misunderstandings when people assume you understand “the system”. This has caused me uncountable mishaps.

Still another aspect is that a certain amount of naïveté is very useful in research, as it makes you look at the science rather than the politics around it. I like that; I definitely think that science should be about just science. Not that I’m not willing to learn the politics if I have to, but I’d rather not.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in General Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

