“A Proper Scientist”

I’ve always been a little careful when talking about science not to put myself forward too much as “a scientist” and more as “a student”. Partially, this is because I like to have an excuse when I do things wrong. However, I also felt that to be “a scientist” you have to have something to back up your claim. Since I’ve never had a paper published, that means I’ve always felt uncomfortable describing myself as “a scientist”.

Until now.

This week I got the news that a paper which I worked on was published in the journal IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices. While the paper wasn’t my idea, I was a big part of getting it produced and my expertise helped to refine it. I’m proud of that contribution, so I want to share that with everyone. But also, after seven years, I feel that I can finally call myself a scientist without having to add a caveat.

So if it floats your boat, have a read of the paper. It’s called;

“Measurements and Simulations of Low Dark Count Rate Single Photon Avalanche Diode Device in a Low Voltage 180-nm CMOS Image Sensor Technology”

The authors are;

Tomer Leitner, Amos Feiningstein, Renato Turchetta, Rebecca Coath, Steven Chick, Gil Visokolov, Vitali Savuskan, Michael Javitt, Lior Gal, Igor Brouk, Sharon Bar-Lev, and Yael Nemirovsky

And yes, one of them is me!

You can find the paper here.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in General Science, Physics, Single Photon Avalanche Diodes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

