The Star of the Olympics

This is for everyone.

I’m not a sportsman, I’m not an athlete in any sense. I’m not patriotic, and I’d rather not tell someone I’m a Brit while abroad (if I can avoid it). The Olympics is absolutely alien to me. And yet… The opening ceremony made me, for once, proud. Proud of being British.

This is for everyone.

For me, the star of the show – absolutely and unequivocally – was Sir Tim Berners-Lee.

This man – the inventor of the internet – was acknowledged during the ceremony with the words, writ large;

This is for everyone.

Thanks to Sir Tim Berners-Lee, I was able to see the event. Without him, I would never have been able to watch it from my room. I simply cannot express how my mind boggles with the thought that without this amazing invention, I would never have appreciated the spectacle.

This is for everyone.

This was all thanks to the Nuclear Physics research at CERN. Anybody claiming that funding CERN isn’t worth anything should be bowled over by the fact that the funding that was provided to CERN brought about the technology that is disseminating the Olympic Games to millions of people around the world. The technology which has helped even me, with all my disillusionment about Britain and the Olympics, feel an ounce of pride. Now, echoing around my head;

This is for everyone.

I don’t think it’s unfair to say that, thanks to Nuclear Physics, the Olympics has truly become a universal event. For Science, for the Olympic Games, for the Internet, remember this one defining phrase. Remember this phrase, which is at the basis of everything that Science does, everything that the Olympics also stand for;

This is for everyone.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in General Science, Opinion, Physics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

