Blog Productivity Flow

My Blog productivity flow is an interesting one; if it were a fluid, the Reynold’s number would be somewhat over one hundred thousand.

I tend to try to write posts in as much advance as possible, but inspiration is somewhat time varying and it can be difficult to predict exactly when it’s optimal to publish one of the backup already-written articles that I try to have. Sometimes, I stop writing backup articles because I run out of time (and hence stop posting for a while longer than I’d like to). The challenge that I run up against is mediating my posting in a good way such that there is never a drought of posts, but that I can maintain a reasonable workload in producing said posts while at the same time coping with a somewhat unpredictable amount of free time. Since I’ve obviously yet to master this, I’m open to tips if anyone has them.

Sometimes, you find that you have so much to write about – and so much you have to do justice to – that you have to postpone posts for a few days. Sorry for my recent quiet, but this is one of those times. Currently in production are posts on;

1) The similarities between research in different fields from an MPhys point of view

2) Funding for science from an MPhys (and STFC employee’s) point of view.

3) The Game of Life in 3D. Questions, and More Questions (Answers? How crass!)

Some of these are in collaboration with my peers in the undergraduate Physics community (yes, I love collab’s; open to offers!)

On top of all of that, I’ve got a related project that myself and a friend have started up (more information in about a month’s time). If anyone is interested in the Game of Life, in distributed computing, in creating Android apps, in web design, or has some organizational skills and technical understanding and interest, please contact me; @Stooveth on Twitter.

About stoove

A physicist, researcher, and gamesman. Likes to think about the mathematics and mechanics behind all sorts of different things, and writing up the thoughts for you to read. A competent programmer, enjoys public speaking and mechanical keyboards. Has opinions which might even change from time to time.
This entry was posted in Et cetera, General Science, Things to Come and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Productivity Flow

  1. emilyreacts says:

    I wish I could offer advice on blog productivity, alas not. My blog productivity is at the moment on an all time low, as I’m simultaneously writing an essay, applying for jobs, visiting family and friends and generally having a nice relaxing time (well, trying to at least).

    I predict not so good productivity for the next week, as I’m graduating on Thursday (scary stuff) but hopefully it will pick up from then. I also try to have a back up of posts, but time constraints mean I usually just write a post, edit and then publish it immediately. I like to put a lot of research into my posts (oh hai, scientist) to make the content more interesting and honest. This unfortunately takes time! Also, I don’t really plan the order of posts I want to write about. When something pops into my head I jot it down on a list of ‘future posts’. Then when I sit down to write something, I consult my list and choose something that takes my fancy. Other times however posts are more in ‘real-time’, as in I’ll write a post about graduation sooner, rather then in 3 months time, or I’ll come across a news story or something on the internet and want to talk about it right now, whilst it’s relevant.

    I do tend to find though that if I have something more important to write, my blog posts get written first. So maybe procrastination isn’t so bad for blogs after all hey. 😉 Also sometimes I write bits of posts on paper first when I’m traveling or taking a break (I don’t tend to carry around a laptop and don’t own a tablet device) and write them up later. This productively fills empty time. As for other advice, I suggest coffee, and plenty of it!

    Additionally, If you’re looking to collaborate with or want an opinion from an MChem (medicinal chemistry) graduate then give me a bell, I’m always happy to contribute!

    • stoove says:

      Well, it’s interesting to see how other people do it! I tend not to write things down on paper because that seems to stop me thinking about the subject I want to talk about – or at least it hinders my attempts at clarity. One thing that often happens is I find myself getting ideas from email or IM (or Twitter) discussions that happen, and the bones of a post build up around that almost immediately. That makes writing a lot easier.

      I also find that blogging is good for procrastination – blogging at work is a particularly difficult habit to kick.

      Of course what I didn’t mention are the projects that seem like a really good idea at the time but then descend into an impossible post – just too difficult to make it both interesting and useful and accurate. I’ve fallen victim to that kind of thing several times, unfortunately. I still hold out hope that I can make them work…

      Coffee is the best thing on the planet right now. Much agreement there! 🙂

      Thanks for the offer of collaboration; I’m interested and once I finish the current glut of work I have to do I’ll see what I can come up with 🙂

      Cheers for the response!

Leave a Reply

